In response to Kit (aka Peregrinus)

I am proud of you, Kit. I have told my students at Trial Lawyers College—where we teach practicing people’s lawyers how to be real, how to win by caring, how to be honest in the presentation of themselves—that if they take care of their clients, no matter how meager the compensation, that the money aspect of the practice will eventually take care of itself. That is a promise.

6 responses to “In response to Kit (aka Peregrinus)

  1. Hi Gerry and all others:

    I am a stay at home mom and was browsing through the library when I came across the book How to Argue and Win Every Time. I really enjoyed reading it and actually got a lot of great information I will be referring back to sometimes. Obviously, I liked reading Gerry’s take on parenting. Being a parent is so tough and I want to quit many times. 🙂

    I became interested in learning more about Gerry when I came across the blog. How lucky I am to have come in at just the right time. Being the extrovert I am I just had to post something. I do like to talk and speak my mind, but unfortunately I am not a lawyer and never intend on becoming one.

    I am however wanting to tell you all about my experience in life this past year. My husband was a USAF military officer until Oct. 2007. Long story short, the career is now gone. We searched for a job for over 6 months until finally found one who would give him a chance. He had interviews regularly and was always one of the top candidates, however he never got the job. My husband swears it is because he was military. No one wants to give him a chance in the corporate world. He serves our country and no one will listen and he is now underemployed (if there is such a word). Another thing, most homeless people are former military and living on the streets! Our system is definitely screwed up and going in the wrong direction and I don’t think it will ever reverse.

    It is all about who you know and being extremely lucky in society, especially with all the people we have to compete with for an awesome chance of a permanent career. There are just too many people, and I wish we would slow down on the amount of children we are bringing into this mess!!

    I just had to vent and really I don’t know anyone, but after reading all of the blogs I figured you guys would not mind hearing.

    Hi Gerry and thanks for starting the blog.

    Kelly

  2. Tennessee Lawyer

    Hi Gerry,

    I just discovered your blog. This may not be the proper topic under which to submit this post, but, as it is the most recent, I opted to simply go with that.

    When I was a teenager living in the South, I dreamed of becoming a lawyer, moving to Wyoming or Montana and representing American Indians (not pc to call them that I realize), working to save the environment against polluters, and representing ordinary folks. I also dreamed of having a ranch in the mountains, horses, and a great log house. While attending undergrad at LSU, I stumbled into a magazine shop in 1980 and came across the Rocky Mountain Magazine with a picture of you and Kimberli Pring on the cover. After reading that article, I thought: “This guy has already lived my life for me. That’s my dream and he’s living it.”

    Well, I did end up moving to Montana after graduating from lawschool in 1986. After clerking with the Montana Supreme Court for a year, with a wife and a new baby, and finding that practically no one, and I mean no one, in the entire state was hiring, I managed to find a job during the last week of my clerkship with an insurance defense firm who also represented natural resource companies. What irony. However, the realities of putting food on the table oftentimes press hard against idealistic dreams. No matter, as I said, my dream had already been lived and lived much better than I could have done it anyway.

    Gerry, I have followed your career with interest and fondness ever since reading that article in Rocky Mountain Magazine. I still have that copy of the magazine in my office sitting beside my dad’s arrowhead collection. Although we are on opposite sides of the spectrum with regard to many of our beliefs, I can say unashamedly that you are truly one of my heros. You are the best trial lawyer that has practiced during the last 50 years bar none. It is an honor to write to you and to read your thoughts in this blog. I look forward to further contributions from you. My very best wishes to you for good health and continued success in all that you do.

  3. Hi Gerry,

    Welcome to the wonderful world of blogs. I’m unexperienced in this myself but will be following yours on a regular basis. Thank you for your insights.

    Tennessee Lawyer. I enjoyed your story. It sounds pretty familar to me as mine is actually similar. However, I represent criminal defendants and plaintiffs. I REALLY need to speak with you offline if possible. I would appreciate it if you could perhaps send me an email so that we could communicate without having to occupy space on Gerry’s blog site. My email: trialwarrior@yahoo.com
    Thank you in advance and I sincerely hope to hear from you.

    Gerry, congratulations on the Fieger victory. Fantastic work!

  4. That may have been true in a different time and in a different country, but today’s America is not the America of my youth. Our “judges” have become so disrespectful of “the law” and their obligations thereunder that they have become immune to the blandishments of even a Gerry Spence or a Walter Gerash.

    Today, judges only follow binding precedent when it takes them precisely where they wanted to go in the first place. Thus, much as the pigs in Orwell’s Animal Farm became indistinguishable from men, the judges who were supposed to be shepherds of the rule of law are indistinguishable from Gerry’s ravening wolves.

    Justice too long delayed is justice denied.

  5. Tennessee Lawyer

    Trial Warrior,

    I sent you an email this morning. If it didn’t come through, let me know.

  6. Gerry
    I have never done it for the money. Woking for the State of New Mexico was not profitable in the financial sense. I did get a lot of personal satisfaction from giving back to the citizens for the two great educations they gave me. Now that I am retired, I only do pro bono work. You have inspired me for years to be a better person and attorney from the first time I met you at the WTAI. To care for clients and do your very best, which never seems to be enough, is the true gift that the profession has to reward with, not filthy lucre.
    Thanks for careing and not giving up.
    Albert Fugere

Leave a Reply

