Argus Joseph Thompson, Insane, on Love

In the fall in Jackson Hole the frost swipes the leaves from the trees like a mad painter stripping wet paint from his canvas.  But this fall the frost had touched only lightly, and the aspens and the cottonwoods had turned translucent and yellow.   The first light stroked the cornices of the Gable Peaks, and the granite rims turned pink, and the snow at the top was also pink.  The leaves of the chokecherries turned the color of tree-ripened peaches, and the mountain ash was red with its clusters of seeds as shiny as red porcelain peas, and the wild geese flew across a Mediterranean sky proclaiming their profound joy, and the early light was aglow on Jenny’s face and on her hair.

“Soon the leaves will fall down,” I said. “It makes me sad.

“The leaves have no regret,” she said.  “It’s only change, and change is beautiful.”

Then it came blurting out: “Jenny, there must be something wrong with you.”

“Of course there’s nothing wrong with me,” she replied still gazing into the early morning light.  The light was light yellow.

“Then why would such a woman as you fall in love with the likes of me?  You’ll have to admit, there must be something wrong.”

She turned to study me.  “Argus, are you feeling bad?”
I tried to explain to her that it was as if she were blind, and being blind had fallen in love with a person who people with eyes would have found unattractive to the extreme.

“You can’t see yourself, Argus.  You can’t see your soul and you can’t see your beauty.”

“You can’t see how crazy things are in here,” I said.  “It’s like the lions are loose inside the circus tent and the people are panicked and running every which way trying to get out.”

“You’re very brave to live in such a place, Argus.”

“No,” I said.  “I am the world’s greatest coward.  And I think I am insane and…”

“Argus,” Jenny said putting her arms around me and looking up into my eyes—she didn’t have to look up very far—”that is what I love about you.  You are who you are and…”

“Maybe I’m crazy, Jenny,” I said.  “Maybe that’s the truth.”

“No, Argus.  You’re not crazy. It’s crazy out there.  Not knowing what’s real is real.”

“My God!” I cried.  “That’s really crazy!”

“Besides, you’re an animal,” she said bearing her teeth and letting out a growl and laughing, and then she grabbed me in ways and in places, and we were like mating tigers, growling and wrestling and screaming, and after that when we lay together in each other’s arms she said, “I love you for many, many deep reasons,” and I felt clear about it for the moment, and I felt beautiful.

That is what falling in love is about, I thought.  It’s when the other shows you your own beauty in such a way that you can, for that magical instant, see it, and you can feel love for yourself.

 

34 responses to “Argus Joseph Thompson, Insane, on Love

  1. Well!

    At least Argus has someone who loves him 😉

    Love “Light” and Energy

    _Don

  2. That is what falling in love is about, I thought. It’s when the other shows you your own beauty in such a way that you can, for that magical instant, see it, and you can feel love for yourself. If that doesn’t say or define the meaning of love, nothing ever will. What a magical feeling that must be. My son was able to show that to me, his father. He has gone home where love is always and forever, yet he still watches over all his loved ones. I know as I can feel him watching over and taking care of me till that day when he can wrap his arms around me and never have to let go. Heaven was just defined from my own world. thank you again Mr. Spence for such beautiful words. Bill…Cheers

  3. Hey, Argus is throwin’ strikes. Leave him on the mound until his arm falls off. His fastball, his splitter and even his change up are down the middle. I am impressed!

  4. thank you for whirling me away for a beautiful moment.

  5. I envy you Gerry, er, I mean Argus – For someone who claims insanity, you couldn’t have picked a more serene retreat to wax poetic. In these trying times, we all need to reflect on who we are as Americans. If you are a tiger, remember that Lions and Tigers are solo creatures. They can’t withstand the fury of a pack of wild dogs.

  6. While the frost strips the leaves in the fall
    come June, they will ne back in a new fesh tone
    of green, as the master painter,
    dances with the sun.
    The sun set the rythm of our lives.
    If no sun, there would be no us,
    and no Argus on, moon-glows.

  7. Hey Gibson:
    Bulla back to you.
    That beautiful photo on your WWW site sure
    did not look like flat land Florida.
    Looked more like Gerry’s back yard.
    You did a twit/ less than 4 words.
    Twiters and bull ropers for America unit
    and take back America.

  8. In the early sixties in State College,Pa. I saw this quote framed in the window of a glass and paint store. BEAUTY IS REALITY SEEN THROUGH THE EYES OF LOVE. Funny how some things stick in your memory.

  9. Hello Paw Paw,

    I am sorry I missed your B’Day celebration. I really wanted to go, mostly because it was my my B Day that weekend. But unfortunate for me I chose to go home and see my family. (It was my mom’s B Day too!!!)

    It wasn’t until this last post that I realized that you and Argus are more closely related than it seemed. I guess it was one of those moments like the one when I you helped me realize, that Tombstone was really about Doc Holiday and not Wyatt Earp…

    Paw Paw, I want you to know that the few moments that I had the opportunity to share with you have really had a profound impact on my life.

    Next month I am interviewing with the Federal Public Defenders Office in Brownsville and Laredo. I have gotten tire of living in Mississippi and feel its time for a new chapter in my life. Plus I miss real Mexican food (For some reason out here they think they can pour cheese sauce on it and call it “Mexican”)

    I was hoping that you would whisper a few kind words to Mother nature and see if she is willing to help me get me one of those positions.

    Finger to the forehead,

    remy

  10. Dear Mr Argus, insane,
    It’s been great to have you back for your last four postings. You are always a big wind of fresh air , if I may mix my metaphors. Truth is , I’m suprised that you allow your friend, Mr. Spence, to do so much of the writing on this blog.
    Don’t misunderstand.
    He certainly has talent and a lot to say but he’s a complex man who requires a bit of pondering. You know. He’ll start talking about the great gift of rejection or the gift of death by a loved one or about how honored he is to receive a
    comment that’s too long to read. I half expect to read an essay about the great gift of being poked in the eye with a sharp stick.
    You balence the team out nicely because you get to say things direct. It’s a social contract we had with George Carlin and before that with Art Buchwald. It’s the contract King Lear had with his fool.
    I don’t yet have a comment on the excellant stuff you’ve both been producing but I’m sure I’ll have a comment soon. Keep up the good work.
    George

  11. By the way, you old devil, happy 40th anniversary to you and your wonderful wife. She’s had the patience of Job.

  12. I remember a man that once said to a crowd I was in , “I have a cheerleader, it is my wife” what a lucky person I thought to myself and knew that too is my wish, desire and need.

  13. Here is the write up on Bob Gordon, and Cisco, and the game the system scheme for millions, heist:

    http://karlschoenberger.com/box.html

    Here is the story on Bob Gordon –a Stanford Law grad(law REVIEW), on his restitution order upheld(by the federal appeal court) on appeal:
    http://98.82.155.132/search?q=cache:Jok0FuRwIsAJ:www.law.com/jsp/article.jsp%3Fid%3D1104154540860+Cisco+9th+Circuit+Gordon+restitution&cd=1&hl=en&ct=clnk&ie=UTF-8

    If any of the above tab in items don’t kick in, google the matter.
    The point is: Gordon claimed he was insane(much like the point raised in the ARGUS POST, the SYNDROME).
    Still, he was sentenced to 5 years in fed pen(jail), and order to pay CISCO Corp restituion of $ 27 million.

    From the article:

    “At the time he was arrested, Gordon was a wealthy, well-known executive apparently at the height of his game. Some questioned why he would even want to steal the money.

    At his sentencing, Genego compared Gordon to John Nash, a talented mathematician who suffered from mental illness and whose life was depicted in the film “A Beautiful Mind.”

    On this one, Gerry the FBI made no deals.
    CISCO must not take too kindly to being ripped off by its big executives on biz development.

  14. Ooooops, I put the above under the “Argus in Love” file, not the Argus item on his presentation on Executive MORAL Breakdown Syndrome, MBS, or MBP, or MDR.
    Argus moves so fast , it is hard to catch up on his many presentations at the Legal Academy’s forums.
    Maybe Argus is real up in the digital world, and is trying to teach Gerry the latest tricks on how ex law Grads from Stanford forgot to be fully human, out there in the NET.

  15. In short, love is blind. Given the condition of most people, physically and spiritually, this is surely a blessing…

  16. Unscrupulous to both wife and girlfriend.

  17. Since everything is relative, I was wrong.

    Don’t all the other wives of high-profile men WISH their husband’s had created an insane person and wrote falsehoods under his column. The world would be a much less volatile place.

    Give Argus a hug, everyone.

  18. My maid was in a funk for days when I explained to her that Argus was a NOVELIST and boys will be boys.

  19. We’ve heard your story and we believe your/you’re tale.

  20. Tis a pity that some of you don’t understand – love is love; the whole package.

  21. Having sex at 80 is like trying to shoot pool with a rope.

  22. Hope ya’l learning from this. Everybody (who isn’t even a lawyer) go and send a decent check as a donation to his TLC so that when you are really down in life — and HIS POPULARITY HAS PLUMMETED AND HE NEEDS SOME ENTERTAINMENT TO GET PEOPLE BACK….. he can use you and st omp on you to his own advantage. Now we know how he was so expert both as DA and defense lawyer. He stands for nothing.

  23. My infatuation with Argus is finally over; cannot hide the fact anymore that he probably needs round-the-clock special RNs more than a girlfriend now.

    (Isn’t the 1st time in life I’ve been singing that old song “Born too late……)

  24. You had better all help him out on his blog now.

    With only 4-6 comments, without mine, every l7 days or so……..he needs ya.

  25. Argus should always remember that when he starts a game….people can play back, unexpectedly.

  26. Sex with a storyteller = Loregasms

  27. Unadulterated misogyny.

  28. Kids’ thoughts on love and the proper age to get married:
    • “Eighty-four, because at that age, you don’t have to work anymore, and you can spend all your time loving each other in your bedroom.” (Judy, 8)
    • “Once I’m done with kindergarten, I’m going to find me a wife.” (Tom, 5)

    What do people do on a first date?
    “On the first date, they just tell each other lies, and that usually gets them interested enough to go for a second date.” (Mike, 9)

    Funny children’s quotes about when it’s okay to kiss someone:
    • “You should never kiss a girl unless you have enough bucks to buy her a big ring and her own VCR, cause she’ll want to have videos of the wedding.” (Jim, 10)
    • “Never kiss in front of other people. It’s a big embarrassing thing if anybody sees you. But if nobody sees you, I might be willing to try it with a handsome boy, but just for a few hours.” (Kally, 9)
    • “It’s never okay to kiss a boy. They always slobber all over you…that’s why I stopped doing it.” (Jean, 10)

    Is it better to be single or married?

    • “It’s better for girls to be single but not for boys. Boys need somebody to clean up after them.” (Lynette, 9)
    • “It gives me a headache to think about that stuff. I’m just a kid. I don’t need that kind of trouble.” (Kenny, 7)

    Kids’ thoughts on love and why it happens between two particular people:
    • “No one is sure why it happens, but I heard it has something to do with how you smell. That’s why perfume and deodorant are so popular.” (Jan, 9)
    • “I think you’re supposed to get shot with an arrow or something, but the rest of it isn’t supposed to be so painful.” (Harlen, 8)

    The question, “What’s falling in love like?” can reveal funny quotes about love:
    • “Like an avalanche where you have to run for your life.” (Roger, 9)
    • “If falling in love is anything like learning how to spell, I don’t want to do it. It takes too long.” (Leo, 7)

    Kids’ thoughts on love and good looks:
    • “If you want to be loved by somebody who isn’t already in your family, it doesn’t hurt to be beautiful.” (Jeanne, 8)
    • “It isn’t always just how you look. Look at me, I’m handsome like anything and I haven’t got anybody to marry me yet.” (Gary, 7)
    • “Beauty is skin deep. But how rich you are can last a long time.” (Christine, 9)

    A funny child’s quote on why lovers hold hands:
    • “They want to make sure their rings don’t fall off because they paid good money for them.” (Dave, 8)

    What do you really think of love?
    “I’m in favor of love as long as it doesn’t happen when “The Simpsons” is on television.” (Anita, 6)
    • “Love will find you, even if you are trying to hide from it. I have been trying to hide from it since I was five, but the girls keep finding me.” (Bobby, 8)
    • “I’m not rushing into being in love. I’m finding fourth grade hard enough.” (Regina, 10)

    Kids’ thoughts on the personal qualities necessary to be a good lover:
    • “One of you should know how to write a check. Because even if you have tons of love, there is still going to be a lot of bills.” (Ava, 8) What a funny quote about love!

    Kids’ thoughts on love and ways to make someone fall in love with you

    “Tell them that you own a whole bunch of candy stores.” (Del, 6)
    • “Don’t do things like have smelly, green sneakers. You might get attention, but attention ain’t the same thing as love.” (Alonzo, 9)
    • “One way is to take the girl out to eat. Make sure it’s something she likes to eat. French fries usually work for me.” (Bart, 9)

    How can you tell if two adults eating dinner at a restaurant are in love?
    • “Just see if the man picks up the check. That’s how you can tell if he’s in love.” (John, 9)
    • “Lovers will just be staring at each other and their food will get cold. Other people care more about the food.” (Brad, 8)
    • “It’s love if they order one of those desserts that are on fire. They like to order those because it’s just like how their hearts are on fire.” (Christine, 9)

    What are most people thinking when they say, “I love you”?
    • “The person is thinking, Yeah, I really do love him. But I hope he showers at least once a day.” (Michelle, 9)

    Funny quotes about love and learning to kiss
    “You learn it right on the spot when the gooshy feelings get the best of you.” (Doug, 7)
    • “It might help to watch soap operas all day.” (Carin, 9)

Leave a comment